South New Zealand Map

South New Zealand Map - Most people enter the island via Christchurch or Queenstown airports so one idea is to drive a clockwise circle around the island starting in either of those coastal cities. Franz Josef Franz Josef is a glacial area in Westland. Covering a total area of 268021 sqkm 103483 sq mi New Zealand is comprised of two large islands that can be observed on the physical map of the country above - the North Island and South Island which are separated by the Cook Strait as well as Stewart Island hundreds of coastal islands and about 600 small regional islands.